Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
1892 Short Rifle - What to look for to authenticate
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
August 28, 2013 - 5:56 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Hello. New member here with my first post. I’ve had a few Winchesters over the years, mostly new or almost new (new 9422 when they first came out – my first gun purchase way before my first driver’s license), and a couple of 94 commemorative octagon barreled rifles. The last few years I’ve picked up more old Ruger revolvers and custom Ruger revolvers, so I guess I’ve dabbled in the world of collecting. All this to say that I’m an extreme novice to the world of Winchesters.

Ever since the late ’60’s, when I went with my parents to a dinner and the host handed me a well worn 1886 lever action to examine and hold to keep me occupied while the grownups talked, I’ve been enamored of old Winchesters and lever actions in general. The short rifles have been the ones I’ve been drawn to. Have a Marlin 1895 Guide Gun, but still would like to someday own a Winchester short rifle. The sub 16" guns hold the most fascination, but they are few and far between and priced accordingly.