Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Winchester 1866 Saddle Ring Carbine - Newie Seeks Help
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
David L.
WACA Guest
March 20, 2017 - 6:31 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Howdy folks, I am a newbie to Winchesters and would like to purchase my first antique Winchester, and so am seeking some advice, pointers, guidance, from other collectors who have experience in the subject matter.  Specifically, I am interested in buying an early Model, 1866 Saddle Ring Carbine, 44 Cal rim fire Henry. 

I’ve seen a few of these carbines at various price points, and it’s proving to be pretty confusing to try and decipher what’s good and what’s not-so-good as so many of these ancient guns have had alterations, modifications, damages, changes, etc., and the prices are all over the place.  I really would like to spend some decent coin and get the best Yellow Boy that I can, and so can you kind folks help me out with some advice? 

What should I read?  What should I look for as I inspect a potential?  What questions to ask?

Thank you so very much in advance!

Dave

Northern edge of the D/FW Metromess
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 5034
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
March 21, 2017 - 2:22 am