Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Total Newbie - Opinions on this Winchester Model 1866 for displaying purposes?
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 4
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
January 28, 2023 - 6:52 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Hello everyone, it is a pleasure to meet you all.

I am looking to purchase “an authentic piece” from the American Frontier era, something that represents ranchers, cowboys etc as a display piece for my home. I never shot a gun in my life! I came across this online and would love the opinion of experts like you all.

https://ciscosgallery.com/collections/old-west-cowboy-firearms/products/winchester-model-1886-ae0654

I don’t care that it has been modified (cut), to be honest I like it even more – it adds character! Just wanted to have opinions – I don’t intend to make it functional or anything like that but I would love to have something really authentic. Might lightly clean it (carefully, no polishing or refinish) but that’s it.

Thank you very much for your time and have a great weekend!

Kingston, WA
Admin
Forum Posts: 10858
January 28, 2023 - 7:17 pm

Hello Charles and welcome to the WACA website.

The Model 1886 rifle you are looking at is appropriately priced, and I would not recommend doing anything to it other than a cursory wipe down with a soft rag. Apply a very light coat of oil to the steel surfaces and clean the stocks with any quality wood furniture oil.

Bert

WACA Historian & Board of Director Member #6571L
High-walls-1-002-C-reduced2.jpg

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 1728
January 28, 2023 - 7:49 pm

Welcome!

For display purposes at the asking price, this might be an okay purchase.  But I’d like to see it closer to $1500.  I’d offer that and then negotiate.