Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
trade '33 model 42 for a model '92?
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 10
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
August 8, 2013 - 3:14 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

I’m a new guy here, and I’m not sure how this works,so go easy on me! I have a field grade 1933 model 42, full and no rib, with a canvas/leather take-down case, and the factory stamped magazine plug. The gun is in very good overall condition – probably around 90% – but I’m not an expert, so I’m only guessing. My question relates to what such a beast might be worth. I’m hoping to acquire a model 1892 rifle or carbine in similar condition, but I’m not sure the little .410 is valuable enough to make it all happen.

Kingston, WA
Admin
Forum Posts: 10723
August 8, 2013 - 8:52 pm

Hello Jim,

You will be short on the deal by several thousand. You are looking at $1800 or so for your Model 42, and a 90% condition Model 1892 is going to run you $4K – 8K depending on the caliber and configuration.

Bert H.

WACA 6571L, Historian & Board of Director Member
High-walls-1-002-C-reduced2.jpg

WACA Guest
August 9, 2013 - 6:36 am

Ouch! I knew I’d have to throw in to make a trade work, but I didn’t think it’d be that much . . . thanks for the information.

Guess I should mention that I like to shoot ’em, so I’m hoping to find a little rifle to use for fun. (Also should mention that I’d consider a SAA if it came my way – also just to shoot). So that means that the condition of a ’92 needn’t necessarily be all that high. Mechanical condition and shootability are more interesting to me than collecter value at this point. Plus I actually enjoy the look – the patina, if you will – of good and careful use. Adds to the historical feel, I think. Like I said, I’m brand new at this. I sincerely appreciate your help. thanks.

WACA Member