Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
winchester 1886 45-90 barrel marks and other questions... reblue/restore? leave it the heck alone?
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 12
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
May 9, 2018 - 11:16 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory sp_QuotePost

SO maybe you already guessed Im new to winchesters and have what I think is a beautiful 1886 45-90 . I listed it for sale and was basically told it has NO collector value. eh …. So what I was thinking was re blueing refinish the stock and doing this myself as a project since it seems I cant do harm to this uncollectable rifle. I figured I would ask the folks who know before I decide .

It has a 21″ barrel which I am told is not correct and a half mag (threaded) which I’m told is not correct  but I sure do like it anyway shoots fine very fun. I have attached a bunch o pics. I am really curious of the barrel markings it has a nice shamrock along with the VP oval and other inspect marks. Jump in and tell me what you think Im pretty thick skinned of say whatever you think and thanks to all………..   here is the link to lots of pics SN 133898A    https://imgur.com/a/29ZGeT6

[Image Can Not Be Found]

Kingston, WA
Admin
Forum Posts: 10861
May 10, 2018 - 4:28 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Billy,

Unfortunately, your Model 1886 is in very rough condition. The serial number identifies it as a 1905 production rifle. The barrel and the magazine tube have both been cut down (shortened), the wood is worse for wear shape, the bore is dark and rough, and the receiver frame has no original finish left on it. Accordingly, it does not have much (if any) remaining collector value. Additionally, any additional $$$ spent on it (refinishing it) would be wasted in my opinion. That stated, any work you do to it will not hurt it at this point.

Bert