Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Win 1894 SRC date?
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 37
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
January 23, 2021 - 11:04 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

New member, first post. I recently picked up a pair of Winchester lever actions, which are the first two I have ever owned, although I have been shooting and collecting Model 70s for many years. I have a question about dating the 1894 carbine on the top of the photo. The serial number is 305484 and looking through a few different references, including my copy of Madis’ Winchester Book, I am seeing a few different dates, ranging from 1903 to 1906, which is confusing. I’m also wondering what the correct rear sight would be for this gun, seeing as how the one on it is broken. The other rifle is a Model 1892 in 25-20. Thanks for any help!

http://i.imgur.com/jCu2cvnh.jpgImage Enlarger
http://i.imgur.com/lnsvT8Vh.jpgImage Enlarger
http://i.imgur.com/21joFLih.jpgImage Enlarger

Kingston, WA
Admin
Forum Posts: 10858
sp_UserOnlineSmall Online
January 24, 2021 - 4:24 am

S/N 305484 was manufactured in May of 1906. As it applies Winchester dates of manufacture, the information George Madis published is not accurate. You can get the exact date of manufacture for this gun by contacting the Cody Firearms Museum (CFM) records office. For a reasonable fee they will provide a Factory letter with all of the details recorded in the original Winchester factory ledger records.

Bert

WACA Historian & Board of Director Member #6571L
High-walls-1-002-C-reduced2.jpg

WACA Guest
January 24, 2021 - 12:20 pm