Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Oddity of screw heads in high condition 1892 carbine
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 1727
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
April 8, 2018 - 6:26 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Does it seem rather odd that the screw heads of this supposed 98% condition carbine appear to lack finish? I would expect them to be in a better state of bluing in an otherwise 98% condition .44-40 carbine?????

https://www.rockislandauction.com/detail/73/16/exceptional-winchester-model-1892-lever-action-saddle-ring

WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 532
April 8, 2018 - 10:00 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory sp_QuotePost

From my view, at the $8.000 price, I’d run away from that one.  Stocks appear to have been sanded, too many screws have been turned.  Not enough detail in those few photos.

I’m still learning.  I hadn’t noticed that ’92’s would have a butt stock that could hold cleaning rods.  Is this a normal aspect of this model?

Also, no wear is evident on the hammer.  Were ’92 hammers blued?

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 2348
April 9, 2018 - 4:06 pm

FromTheWoods said
From my view, at the $8.000 price, I’d run away from that one.  Stocks appear to have been sanded, too many screws have been turned.  Not enough detail in those few photos.

I’m still learning.  I hadn’t noticed that ’92’s would have a butt stock that could hold cleaning rods.  Is this a normal aspect of this model?

Also, no wear is evident on the hammer.  Were ’92 hammers blued?