Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
New to site but with an old Winchester 1873
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 1
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
January 26, 2019 - 8:09 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Hi. Looking for a little knowledge here. I received a family heirloom that my uncle hung on my bedroom wall when I was twelve. I was told at the time it was a rifle that was given to my great grandfather (or maybe grandfather) for taking care of some rich guys estate on the Hudson river, who may have fought in the Indian wars. I’ve been dragging this rifle around with me for over 40 years now, and oddly never really noticed the markings on it until today when I was inventorying and recording my other rifles serial numbers. Turns out it is serial number 3326 which means it was made in 1875 I guess. I was told several years ago by a gun dealer that it had no value since I highly doubt it is in working order, but I don’t see any reason why it could not be restored. I guess it has “value” as an heirloom and I’ll pass it down to my nephew someday I suppose. I’ll post some pics once I figure out how and take some opinions: 

Wisconsin
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 4281
January 26, 2019 - 10:34 pm

Welcome to the forum. The gun is a first model 73 so it will be worth something. How much depends on its condition. As a guest you will have to post the pictures to a photo host site and then post a link to them or you can send me the pictures and I will post them.

Bob

WACA Life Member---
NRA Life Member----
Cody Firearms member since 1991
Researching the Winchester 1873's

73_86cutaway.jpg

Email: [email protected]

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 4571
January 26, 2019 - 11:36 pm

[email protected] said