Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Is this a true 1866?
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 1
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
November 17, 2020 - 7:48 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory sp_QuotePost

I’m currently a student at the Colorado School of Trades (just started) and I have this rifle which appears to be a re-barreled 1866 Winchester.  The thing is missing some parts but more important, I’m unsure of what I actually have here.  The barrel is marked 44WCF with the Winchester double proof marks for factory barrels they sold to gunsmiths back in the day.  What puzzles me is the serial number location behind the lever on the lower tang which also matches the one inside the buttplate.  There is also a series of x’s I believe four of the on the side of the lower tang as well.  I’m also stumped by the leather glued to the left side of the buttstock and have never seen that before.  If this thing is in fact a real 1866, someone made a poor attempt to polish it and scratched it to hell unfortunately.  Since damage has already been done to it, I’d like to find all of the missing parts and polish it properly, restore the wood, and make it functional once again as my capstone project.  I have 14 months to do a restoration job but I’ll also need those parts.  Any help with identification, and locating parts would be greatly appreciated.[Image Can Not Be Found]  [Image Can Not Be Found] [Image Can Not Be Found]  [Image Can Not Be Found] [Image Can Not Be Found]

Regards,

Joe Novotny

Wisconsin
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 4322
November 18, 2020 - 5:14 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Joe,