Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Winchester 1890 with 18" barrel?
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
tstroble
WACA Guest
February 14, 2016 - 5:47 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Hi guys/gals. I have what I believe is a model 1890 pump rifle chambered in .22 short. From my online research it seems to be the 2nd generation(?) based on the serial number 271419 and I think manufactured in 1906. The thing I’m having difficulty finding info about is the fact that it has an 18″ barrel instead of the standard 24″. I have spent a few hours and just can’t seem to find anything about it. I’m not an expert but the barrel doesn’t appear to have been cut. Front sight is dove-tailed and looks original.

My Dad got this rifle about 40 years ago from a woman he did some work for. Unfortunately it was rather rusty and I remember and I think he had it re-blued. The stock also had a bad crack and is loose (still is). Forearm also has a couple long cracks and is missing one screw.

I know she isn’t a cream puff and probably doesn’t have much collector value because of condition but can anyone tell me if these were ever manufactured with an 18″ shorter barrel? 

Thanks in advance for any info and taking the time to help!

PS- unfortunately it does not look like it is going to let me post pictures even when using an outside source.

[Image Can Not Be Found]

[Image Can Not Be Found]

[Image Can Not Be Found]

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 27
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
February 15, 2016 - 4:21 pm

tstroble,

In addition to what Bert Hartman added above, I have found a little more in Schwing that may be helpful re your gun at pages 236-7 and in Appendix A, Chart 90-8B at page 313.