Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Winchester 1866 SRC
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 182
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
April 4, 2019 - 3:26 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

I have been chasing a few Winchesters around for several years and finally got one. He has some nice old stuff, but we haven’t been able to complete a deal other than this 1866. It was made in 1885 and is in real good condition…

http://i.imgur.com/ojaFHXN.jpgImage Enlarger

http://i.imgur.com/5oS5Lgs.jpgImage Enlarger

http://i.imgur.com/pWVjnL3.jpgImage Enlarger

http://i.imgur.com/nZpC6Dp.jpgImage Enlarger

http://i.imgur.com/7L93y74.jpgImage Enlarger

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 4598
April 4, 2019 - 5:29 pm

Will the gun letter?  Looks nice.  Unusual wood on the stock.

WACA Guest
April 4, 2019 - 7:36 pm

Chuck said
Will the gun letter?  Looks nice.  Unusual wood on the stock.  

The serial number is 162161 and it is on the bottom tang which is integral with the receiver where the saddle ring is. I can’t imagine it wouldn’t letter. The wood is nice, I took the butt plate off and the wood work under the butt plate certainly looks factory. It even has the cleaning kit in the butt…

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 1579
April 4, 2019 - 7:50 pm

The serial is in the letterable range. Any assembly numbers on the stocks?

https://centerofthewest.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/2019-Winchester-List.pdf

Sincerely,

Maverick

WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 491
April 4, 2019 - 9:28 pm

I’ve never seen a knot in the wood on a stock before.  Interesting, and glossy.

The engraving does not look factory to me.

Montana
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 647
April 5, 2019 - 12:36 am

Do you have photos of the left side of the receiver?

WACA Guest
April 5, 2019 - 12:19 pm

win4575 said
Do you have photos of the left side of the receiver?