Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
1905 Winchester Issues
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 5
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
April 15, 2020 - 1:12 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

I have been toiling with a 1905 32WSL now for the last 6 months. Fires great but will not blow back far enough to extract the cartridge. Have tried several loads with 4227 and 2400. Ruled that out. There are 2 parameters I cannot find data on first is the size of the buffer. I can make it no problem but the actual length between the washers is eluding me. If any one has info on this I would appreciate it. 

The second and most important – I do not believe that the bolt (recoil spring) is correct.   The bolt does not come back far enough to chamber the next cartridge and tension seems quite high for a weak little 32. I have actual 32wsl brass and get 1450-1500 FPS with the correct powder so I am confident in the load. Just not confident in the recoil spring. It is very stiff to pull back (and harder to assemble than my 401!) if any one has data on at least the length of the spring used in the 32WSL version it would give me a starting spot. Now I have learned that the 1907 (.351) and 1905 (.35WSL) used the same spring so that may be what some bubba put in this gun – I can start with shortening a few coils to relieve tension just need an initial length!

Thank you all! 

Kingston, WA
Admin
Forum Posts: 10723
April 15, 2020 - 3:59 am