Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Reloading question for my 1886 4590
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
Craig Alaska
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 1
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
December 21, 2021 - 7:20 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Hi I am new to the Winchester collector Association and have been collecting lever action rifles for a few years. I am also new to forums, but see value in information I can’t seem to find otherwise. I recently purchased a 4590 1886 built I believe in 1891 based on the Serial number. The only information I can find in regards to reloading this old rifle is on forums.

I have 2 questions:

First is I could only locate 45-70 reloading dies which I have been reading will work for the 45-90, does anyone have advice on procedures on this question?

Second question, I have been reading posts on this site in regards to reloading the 4590 with Accurate 5744 powder which seems to be the best “foolproof” or best powder for this old rifle. I have two bullets in my possession Hornady Interlock .458 350 GR RN, and Hornady  .458 480 GR DGX. Can anyone provide me with some suggested load data?

I appreciate any information. Thank you.

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 4598
December 22, 2021 - 7:11 pm

The 45-90 is rifled for a 300 grain bullet.  A few grains one way or another won’t make a difference

5744 is a good powder but not the only one. I have used IMR 4759, 3031 and 4198 too.

The 45-90 case is longer than a 45-70 case.  The dies for the 45-70 probably won’t size the 45-90 case correctly. The mouth of the case will hit the die before the entire length of the cartridge is sized.  This might work but I’ve never tried it.

You need to slug the barrel to find the proper diameter of the bullet your barrel needs.  I have bullets at .458″ and .459″ for my 45’s.