Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
unique Model 1895 take-down
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
Michigan
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 3
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
January 15, 2019 - 1:07 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Good Evening All:

I am brand new to the web site. Was referred by an existing member. I have posed some questions to him about a unique Model 1895 take-down I acquired a few years back from a pawn shop in California.  The rifle is chambered in 30-06, What is unique, in my opinion are a couple of things. First this rifle had a carbine stock with the steel curved buttplate. There are target blocks on the barrel. The Winchester proof mark on the barrel is stamped forward of the back block. There is a Sheard leaf sight on the barrel. The front sight was a beat up small brass bead.

After receiving the rifle, I checked it out. It’s condition was as advertised. Bore is clean and sharp. Functions and fires. I bought the rifle for purposes of going on a lever-action elk hunt with a friend of mine whom is a well-known gunmaker and restorer. Sadly the hunt never worked out for me. But I decided that this rifle needed a lease on life. I had a new stock and forend milled for the rifle from a piece of walnut I had acquired here in Michigan. The dimensions of the stock were patterned of a gentleman’s rifle whom is built like me: tall and kinda big. I did the final bit of shaping to the stock (very very little), and applied a hand-rubbed oil finish. The metal was restored by Dan Printz. Traditional bluing and color casehardening with a few special touches I wanted.