Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Circa 1960 1894 carbine with factory checkering?
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
Star ID
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 90
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
July 18, 2021 - 8:26 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

I cam across an auction for a ’94 carbine, where the seller claims it is a 1960 made rifle with factory checkering. Looking at the pictures, I call “shenanigans”…..  mostly because the checkering looks so janky.  But….. the question arises, as I am far from a Winchester expert.  Did Winchester offer checkering on pre-64 carbines?  I know, from searching this forum, that you could get checkering on a rifle in the “Fancy sporting” configuration, or if you ordered it as a special feature. But, did Winchester factory checker carbines?

Link to auction:

https://www.gunbroker.com/item/905355886

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 508
July 18, 2021 - 8:35 pm

Your instincts are correct, that’s not factory checkering.

WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 60
July 19, 2021 - 1:18 am

Tedk said
Your instincts are correct, that’s not factory checkering.  

Ditto.   

Note also how “proud” the receiver, tang & buttplate are.  Definitely (overly) sanded wood.  

WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 884
July 19, 2021 - 1:48 am

Notice how the checkering on the right side of the forearm runs downhill, The pattern is 1/4″ lower in the rear than the front.

Erin

Star ID
WACA Guest
July 19, 2021 - 1:56 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory sp_QuotePost

OW1892 said

Ditto.   

Note also how “proud” the receiver, tang & buttplate are.  Definitely (overly) sanded wood.