Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
1886 amunition
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Guest
Forum Posts: 16
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
June 2, 2017 - 10:18 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory sp_QuotePost

Hello all,

I have a beautiful 1886 45-90 that I want to shoot. I guess everyone knows finding any kind of factory ammo is a lost cause, unless you want Cowboy Action ammo. I’ve been reloading for 45 years now, but as you probably also know there is little data around for smokeless powder loads.  I know the argument against shooting smokeless in these old guns and agree. But, isn’t there two different 1886’s? I mean, the early guns are “black powder” guns, yes. But the later ones, after the turn of the 20th century, weren’t they chambered and rifled to shoot jacketed bullets? Mine was made in 1910, toward the end of production (#152878_A). I know (or think I know) the Express loads had a 300 grain bullet. But was there a smokeless Express load with a jacketed bullet? Or a BP load with a jacketed bullet?

I guess what I’m getting at is:

In 1910 or 1911, when the rifle was sold, what would have been the newest, latest ammo I would have been sold at the time? Or what is the CORRECT ammo for this fine old rifle?

Dave

Kingston, WA
Admin
Forum Posts: 10850
June 3, 2017 - 12:41 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Dave,

Is the barrel marked “Nickel Steel”? If not, check the bottom of the barrel for any of the following; “MNS”, “BNS”, or “CNS”. If it has any of those markings, it is perfectly fine to shoot jacketed bullets at moderate velocities, loaded with smokeless powder.

Bert

WACA Historian & Board of Director Member #6571L
High-walls-1-002-C-reduced2.jpg

Northern edge of the D/FW Metromess
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 5055
June 3, 2017 - 3:01 am