Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
1886 Close Set Trigger
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 4598
sp_UserOfflineSmall Offline
March 25, 2021 - 7:57 pm
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

I found a rifle that has the close set triggers that aren’t working.  What would it take to remove the trigger?  I have never torn an 86 apart. 

WACA Member
Forum Posts: 1722
March 25, 2021 - 9:51 pm

Chuck, The Winchester Catalogues have a cut away picture with directions on dissembling and assembling. The trigger comes out with the lower tang. I have no experience with the double set type.

(1) Remove stock

(2) Unscrew strain screw

(3) Drive out the main-spring from left to right.

(4) Remove the carrier spring.

(5) Take out the hammer screw and tang with sear attached.

T/R

NY
WACA Member
Forum Posts: 6368
March 26, 2021 - 12:21 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_EditHistory sp_QuotePost

TR said
  Chuck, The Winchester Catalogues have a cut away picture with directions on dissembling and assembling. The trigger comes out with the lower tang. I have no experience with the double set type.

(1) Remove stock

Before going beyond this, with the buttstock off, spray the DS mechanism with Kroil, turn the adjustment screw in & out, see if it will set.  If it doesn’t, I’d spray again with carb cleaner, as Kroil won’t cut hardened, oxidized, oil, if that’s binding the mechanism.  If it’s still inoperative, only then would I proceed further.

WACA Member
March 26, 2021 - 4:37 pm

TR said

(1) Remove stock

(2) Unscrew strain screw

(3) Drive out the main-spring from left to right.

(4) Remove the carrier spring.

(5) Take out the hammer screw and tang with sear attached.

T/R  

That makes sense.  That is how I figured out how to tear my Henry apart.

WACA Member
March 26, 2021 - 4:39 pm

clarence said

TR said

(1) Remove stock