Search
Forum Scope

Match

Forum Options

Minimum search word length is 3 characters - maximum search word length is 84 characters
Lost password?
sp_Feed sp_PrintTopic sp_TopicIcon
Ammo for a Model 1912
sp_NewTopic Add Topic
gopher38
WACA Guest
March 12, 2017 - 4:12 am
sp_Permalink sp_Print sp_QuotePost

Hello,

Should say up front that I’m a borderline novice regarding guns, so apologies if I say something dumb.  I have a Model 1912 (nickel steel).  The “When was your Winchester made?” link above puts the manufacture date at 1914.  It’s a 12 gauge that belonged to my grandfather.  He was in the Army in WWI in France, and reading the history of this gun on some site, it said that this gun was used by the armed forces from WWI till Vietnam, I think, so maybe it’s from WWI (I know the US wasn’t in the war until later, but still could have been from then; or maybe he picked it up later, I really don’t know).  At any rate, it’s got sentimental value, and I’d like to get it firing again.  Not that it’s in bad shape, it’s actually pretty pristine, as it’s spend most of it’s life in the attic under carpets.  I’m pretty sure everything on it is original.  Like I said though, I rarely shoot guns, and never shotguns (I have a Beretta 9mm for the home that I shoot a couple times a year, but that’s it).

So I read on some site that you shouldn’t use steel shot with this model because, although the nickel steel was considered good at the time, that it’s not great by today’s standards.  This guy (who may or may not know what he’s talking about) said you should use lead shot.  Does anyone know if this is true?  I thought lead shot was illegal or something.  I wouldn’t be shooting it real often, so is this truly a constraint for an occasional shooter?